Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 Fallout/Fallout 2 in Windows XP View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
echotheory
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:09 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

yeah, I know, another one of these but my problem seems to be a little more complex.

First things first though, relevant machine specs:
Asus MB
p4 3.0
1 gig ddr ram
win xp home

Fallout 1 installed and ran without a single problem/glitch/malfunction on my machine, which apparently around here is pretty unheard of.

Fallout 2 however has been a nightmare. Once it reaches the "Please Wait" screen, I'm immediately kicked back to the desktop. I've tried playing with the compatibility suggestions made here, I've tried editing the fallout2.cfg file and all my paths are active. I've tried doing a manual install like some have said.. ie: copying files from the cd to my harddrive and just opening the patch to get the rest of the files. This seems all good or whatever but my the critter file , about half way through copying, errors out saying " Cannot copy CRITTER: Invalid MS-Dos Function" wtf? Sometimes it also says, "Cannot copy: Cyclic Redundancy Error" or something to that effect. Even with the "Humongous" install option it never seems like the Critter file is getting into the Fallout2 folder in whole. Do i have a bad cd? What else could be causing my problem? Help?

Thanks so much and sorry again for adding another one of these threads here.
View user's profileSend private message
S4ur0n27
Mamma's Gang member
Mamma's Gang member


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 15138
Location: Villeray

PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2004 5:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I dunno but if you got your CD from suprnova.org or some other torrents place, chances are you got the same ISO as I have, and well, it's corrupted. Poop told me some people were talking about it on the suprnova forums, but I can't access them for some strange reason.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's websiteMSN MessengerICQ Number
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 5:30 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Fallout 1&2 both run perfect on my machine(I also use XP). When I add a city to fallout 2 if I forget to put the city.txt or maps.txt into the BlackIsle/Fallout2/DATA/data directory I get the same basic result.

Maybe you're doing this too(if you mod).
King of Creation
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 5103

PostPosted: Fri Aug 13, 2004 6:07 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

See if any of this will help
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
echotheory
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 14, 2004 6:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

welp, i have the game running now, cd was just dirty as hell but now im having other problems... haha guess ill search around here and see if anyone else has had em before i post again.
View user's profileSend private message
zetabobster
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 9:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Well what I do is on my Win XP machine i go into explore on the disk, then i click it, hit proertities go to compatibility then hit windows 98, i use the humongous install and it works great
View user's profileSend private message
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2004 10:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hello all.

I recently bought the Fallout/Fallout 2 double jewel case package. Autoplay works fine with the games, and installation completes without a hitch. However, the autoplay's "play" button is still greyed out, and when i try to launch the game, the screen goes black and my NEC monitor makes a *click* noise that I associate with changing resolutions. It then clicks again, and the black fades back to desktop. Occasionally, I get to the grey screen that says "Please stand by."

I have tried innumerable combinations of the compatability options, I have set my desktop settings to low (800 x 600, Medium 16bit), I tried disabling my graphics card and startup processes and such. Once my graphics card was disabled, i could get the initial movie to play, but at the end, the screen's colors inverted like a photo negative and the program froze.

If anyone knows what else i could try (or has devised a fix) I would be very interested in hearing from you. Thanks all.

JoCom

My system includes:
P4 3GHz
Geforce FX 5900 Ultra
Windows XP Professional
Stainless
Living Legend
Living Legend


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 3035
Location: Melbourne, Futureland

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2004 4:59 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Have you tried a humungous installation? Also, sometimes not all the files are installed (no idea why), so you may want to look around your Fo/Fo2 directory and look for the folders with missing bits and copy/paste them over from the cd directly.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailICQ Number
Carib
Desert Wanderer
Desert Wanderer


Joined: 19 Jan 2003
Posts: 539
Location: Some God Forsaken Mountain in Afghanistan

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 2:12 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I got the Dual Case last year and the game, thank goodness is already patched... It ran pretty smooth on my Dad's dell.

But that is true, some versions of the CD are corrupted. Can't imagine why.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailMSN MessengerICQ Number
Dove
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 15 Jan 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

S4ur0n27 wrote:
I dunno but if you got your CD from suprnova.org or some other torrents place, chances are you got the same ISO as I have, and well, it's corrupted. Poop told me some people were talking about it on the suprnova forums, but I can't access them for some strange reason.

*snicker*

I wonder how that happened?

Hehe.
View user's profileSend private message
Xeixen
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Orlando, Florida

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 1:50 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Well when I try to install Fallout 1, I just get a blue screen.

But Fallout 2 works almost perfectly for me. It seems, however, that the character animations move a half a second slower. Not a big deal.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Stainless
Living Legend
Living Legend


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 3035
Location: Melbourne, Futureland

PostPosted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:59 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I believe there's an option to speed up animations.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailICQ Number
MurPHy
Strider Elite
Strider Elite


Joined: 21 May 2002
Posts: 943
Location: South Jersey

PostPosted: Mon Dec 20, 2004 10:41 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm thinking that switching to Win 98 will solve most problems. Maybe getting another hard drive, and having a dual-boot system is in order, eh?
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
RAK
Vault Dweller
Vault Dweller


Joined: 05 Jan 2005
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 6:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

XP is a piece of shit when it comes to running old games. It doesn't even have proper DOS compatibility.

I reckon that most of the problems that I've heard of result from people running XP. And, yes, I do have reasons for disliking XP. Don't think that I haven't tried it.
View user's profileSend private message
MR Snake
Chinderella
Chinderella


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 2232
Location: Fapping in my mothers basement

PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005 7:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Both Fallout and Fallout 2 work perfectly on my computer never had one problem with them.
View user's profileSend private message
Redeye
I lied
I lied


Joined: 07 Mar 2005
Posts: 4160
Location: filth

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 3:00 am Reply with quoteBack to top

MR Snake wrote:
Both Fallout and Fallout 2 work perfectly on my computer never had one problem with them.


What is your system?

I've got to scrounge up a battery for my old Aptiva, then I'll be able
to run all my old crap w/o hassle.
View user's profileSend private message
MR Snake
Chinderella
Chinderella


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 2232
Location: Fapping in my mothers basement

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 7:03 am Reply with quoteBack to top

a 6 month old post. Your lucky I actually checked this, anyway.

AMD XP 2400+
1gig ram 333 mhz
Geforce 4 ti4200
msi kt4 ultra-bsr
1 x 200gb 7200 rpm ide hdd and one 120gb 7200 rpm.

Win XP Swe Pro SP2 integrated.


Last edited by MR Snake on Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
VasikkA
No more Tuna
No more Tuna


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 12:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I think the operating system matters more whether Fallout and Fallout 2 will run properly, not specs. Fallout 2 runs normally in my Pentium 4(WinXP). How's it with Macs?
View user's profileSend private message
Geno
Wanderer
Wanderer


Joined: 22 Jul 2005
Posts: 429
Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 1:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I had some trouble installing Fallout, but I simply used Compatibility with Windows 95 on the files on the CD. Then everything worked well after(can't remember if I did compatibility with the files on the hard drive). I haven't installed Fallout 2 yet, but I should soon. Hope it works.
View user's profileSend private message
Vaultboy
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 15
Location: Vault 13

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 4:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Lets hope Windows Vista has DOS compatability and Windows 3.1 also



Bill gates + me = chaindeath
icon_evil_laugh icon_chainsaw
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group