Mod Distribution

Discuss the creation and scripting of new fan-made games and mods for the Fallout series of games.
SpellTrap
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b

Mod Distribution

Post by SpellTrap »

I'm new at this. What's the best way to distribute a mod containing files for the maps, data, text, and scripts subdirectories? The easier it is to install, the better.
"It's 106 miles to Arroyo, we got a full fusion cell, half a pack of Radaway, it's midnight, and I'm wearing a 50-year old Vault 13 jumpsuit. Let's hit it."
ExtremeDrinker
250 Posts til Somewhere
250 Posts til Somewhere

Post by ExtremeDrinker »

Make a SFX Archive in WinRAR.
SDMVersion3
Vault Veteran
Vault Veteran

Post by SDMVersion3 »

In a DAT file, for use with FaME.
Error! I suck balls.
Duck and Cover doesn't... always.
ExtremeDrinker
250 Posts til Somewhere
250 Posts til Somewhere

Post by ExtremeDrinker »

Oh, yeah....I went brain-dead for a while. DAT file is the way to go.

I was thinking of file distribution in general...Like as in archival.
SDMVersion3
Vault Veteran
Vault Veteran

Post by SDMVersion3 »

Well if you're distributing a full version definitely go with DAT, unless you've patched the exe (which you likely will), in which case RynoDrinker is on the money. I don't have experience with SFX, but Winrar is your friend and if WinRar makes it, it's gotta be good.
Error! I suck balls.
SpellTrap
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b

Post by SpellTrap »

What's the best tool to use to make DATs?
"It's 106 miles to Arroyo, we got a full fusion cell, half a pack of Radaway, it's midnight, and I'm wearing a 50-year old Vault 13 jumpsuit. Let's hit it."
SDMVersion3
Vault Veteran
Vault Veteran

Post by SDMVersion3 »

I don't know any.

I imagine if you can undat something, you cna redat it. Check whatever you undatted with...

I'm not too experienced with finished product... I'm more of a slave labor kinda guy...
Error! I suck balls.
Corpse
Vault Scion
Vault Scion

Post by Corpse »