Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 To run Fallout 3 on Mac Boot Camp View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
FlameStormer2000
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Place in that Place

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 1:34 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Yeah I'm new to PC games and don't know what the hell i'm doing. Here's my Laptops info so can I run it or what?

Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,1
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.66 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M:

Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce 9400M
Type: Display
Bus: PCI
VRAM (Total): 256 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device Itard 0x0863
Revision Itard 0x00b1
ROM Revision: 3385
gMux Version: 1.7.3
Displays:
Color LCD:
Resolution: 1440 x 900
Depth: 32-Bit Color
Core Image: Hardware Accelerated
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Quartz Extreme: Supported
Built-In: Yes
Display Connector:
Status: No Display Connected
View user's profileSend private message
VasikkA
No more Tuna
No more Tuna


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 9:29 am Reply with quoteBack to top

FlameStormer2000 wrote:

Device Itard 0x0863
Revision Itard 0x00b1

tard
View user's profileSend private message
spokomptonjdub
Vault Veteran
Vault Veteran


Joined: 19 Apr 2007
Posts: 256
Location: Foucault's Panopticon

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:53 am Reply with quoteBack to top

VasikkA wrote:
FlameStormer2000 wrote:

Device Itard 0x0863
Revision Itard 0x00b1

tard


tard
View user's profileSend private message
Stainless
Living Legend
Living Legend


Joined: 18 Apr 2002
Posts: 3035
Location: Melbourne, Futureland

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 10:57 am Reply with quoteBack to top

spokomptonjdub wrote:
VasikkA wrote:
FlameStormer2000 wrote:

Device Itard 0x0863
Revision Itard 0x00b1

tard


tard


tard
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailICQ Number
Kashluk
Grand MF
Grand MF


Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 7507

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 11:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

dumb
View user's profileSend private message
MadBill
Strider Elite
Strider Elite


Joined: 03 Feb 2005
Posts: 932
Location: Vault pi

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

As the official support forum for Fallout 3 I can say, with justification:
We do not support Fallout 3. Try again later.
View user's profileSend private message
entertainer
Vault Hero
Vault Hero


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1080
Location: Lithuania

PostPosted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

yeah and fuck you for playing fallout 3
View user's profileSend private message
Superhaze
Hero of the Desert
Hero of the Desert


Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 1687
Location: Far north

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 1:32 am Reply with quoteBack to top

MadBill wrote:
As the official support forum for Fallout 3 I can say, with justification:
We do not support Fallout 3. Try again later.


Sticky!! icon_clap
View user's profileSend private message
4too
Vault Elite
Vault Elite


Joined: 17 May 2002
Posts: 352

PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 2:48 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Risk?




Risk? Always a risk.

At this zip code: MB Pro 15, 2.8 Core 2 Duo, with 9400M/9600GT vid.

Boot Camp with XP Pro, 32 bit, SP3, no recalled issues installing.

FO3 loaded and drove the baby around a bit,
graphics max-ed,
but,
but still no more thrill then on the upgraded (vid card + ram) Pentium 4, Win XP PC's,
where I've seen playable FO3 installs.

Still have yet to 'leave the building' with my little virtual demigod.

Most of my PC game experience on Boot Camp is playing the FO 1 and 2 mod-s available ONLY on PC,
mod-ing out the GOG downloads (certainly more XP or later OS friendly then my original Win disks).

Haven't pushed the Mac hardware nor the FO3 software.
Have no idea what conflicts await in the real challenge in PC gaming, getting the software computable with compatible hardware.

You 'could' install FO3 in Boot Camp on the Mac mentioned , in fact 64 bit XP or Vista might function as OS as well,
lots of playable bargain PC games out there,
and,
and 'should' you install FO3, that's your value 'added' judgement.





4too
View user's profileSend private message
zippo
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:28 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I am playing it happily right now on my 2.8 quad core mac using boot camp and XP, I have a bit more RAM than you do (8GB) and am playing at very high video settings. It is a slight bit buggy (seems to have intermittent game crashes) but not devastating. Since you can quicksave it doesn't really slow you down too much. I would say the game freezes every two hours, but just the game and not the whole system and you just quit and restart and all is well. And as I said i am using yje highest video settings. If you lower these a bit the game will still look alright (especially on a lapyop size screen) and you can have all the fun. Go for it!

btw–Boot Camp allows you to use all of your processor's power (as opposed to Parallels Desktop which runs Windows on top of the mac OS) so it is a much better way to play PC games on a Mac.

hope this helps...
View user's profileSend private message
zippo
SDF!
SDF!


Joined: 03 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:30 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I am playing it happily right now on my 2.8 quad core mac using boot camp and XP, I have a bit more RAM than you do (8GB) and am playing at very high video settings. It is a slight bit buggy (seems to have intermittent game crashes) but not devastating. Since you can quicksave it doesn't really slow you down too much. I would say the game freezes every two hours, but just the game and not the whole system and you just quit and restart and all is well. And as I said i am using yje highest video settings. If you lower these a bit the game will still look alright (especially on a lapyop size screen) and you can have all the fun. Go for it!

btw–Boot Camp allows you to use all of your processor's power (as opposed to Parallels Desktop which runs Windows on top of the mac OS) so it is a much better way to play PC games on a Mac.

hope this helps...
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group