Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 Very Important Questions View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Izno
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 12:16 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Would it be possible to just make them both on the same mission, and just changing the singleplayerspawn to the second when some cvar is triggered or something?the idea is the second 'version' of the map would be on the same level but just far away with no tiles in between so it wouldnt be possible to get there.in case of smaller maps anyway, a bigger one would require the multiple levels i guess.
Also about doors, is it possible to only make a door auto open for certain players/teams only?if so, how?
View user's profileSend private message
requiem_for_a_starfury
Hero of the Wastes
Hero of the Wastes


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1820

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You can build the map how you wish, but if you build different versions side by side you've got the camera boundaries to consider, you would need to block the second section off so if the player scrolled across they wouldn't be able to see it.

For the doors, you'd have to use the unlock, lock commands and have it set so they would be unlocked if a certain player or team is in the zone.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Izno
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 3:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Ah too bad bout the doors.but i think i can work around it.
Now i have an Extremely Importan Question that i just cant figure out: is it possible to have an item that is just in backpack, to give an effect, like increase stats, or skills?I havent found any way to get this to work, but i suspect i could use armors.but i hope theres another way.
View user's profileSend private message
requiem_for_a_starfury
Hero of the Wastes
Hero of the Wastes


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1820

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 4:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Set up your door, set it to auto open/close and locked. Then set up a zone in front of the door and have a trigger with the condition team x has more than 0 alive in the zone, action unlock the door. Then it'll auto open when a particular actor is in front of it.

Of course you can use armours to increase skills and stats that's how power armour works. You wouldn't be able to do it with an item in the inventory, it would need to be equipped. The only item types we've found (IIRC) that'll increase certain stats and skills are lock picks and enhancers, tool kits and medical kits.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Izno
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 4:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

ye i noticed that about the lockpicks and such.
Can every race wear an armor?i dont think so but would it be possible with the entity editor?armors will work fine for what i have in mind, but i might need to limit it depending on which characters can use one.
Btw, thanks for all your help smile
View user's profileSend private message
requiem_for_a_starfury
Hero of the Wastes
Hero of the Wastes


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1820

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 4:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Not every race, you can force armour on entities in the entity editor but I don't think that'll actually change their ac, dr/dt etc.

Forgot to mention for the doors, you could always just give only certain people a key and use the open door option for way points.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Izno
Scarf-wearing n00b
Scarf-wearing n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 6:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

open door makes them open the door??i thought it would just show the animation?so punch would make them force attack?well even just the door is great!and make the key unlootable for the doors the player should never open.smile
View user's profileSend private message
requiem_for_a_starfury
Hero of the Wastes
Hero of the Wastes


Joined: 29 Oct 2002
Posts: 1820

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 9:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Open door will make them open doors, I can't honestly say for sure if they will unlock a door though, even with the key.

The punch command is just for show, it doesn't initiate combat IIRC.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group