Duck and Cover Forum Index


Use these links, buy stuff from Amazon and help us out, nubs.
Amazon.com | Amazon.ca | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.de
  Duck and Cover  •  FAQ  •  Search  •  Memberlist  •  Usergroups   •  Register  •  Profile  •  Log in to check your private messages  •  Log in

 Support DAC!
 Flatscreen and Bethesda shitting the bed View next topic
View previous topic
Post new topicReply to topic
Author Message
Retlaw83
Goatse Messiah
Goatse Messiah


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 5328

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:18 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yesterday, I joined the 21st century and finally bought a 23" x 17" LCD monitor, which replaces my 50 pound 19" flat screen CRT and somehow even has more vertical viewing space. Needless to say, it's an Acer and fucking awesome; between the monitor and the computer I'm a fan of theirs for life. My other options in the class - one higher price and one lower price - did not look as good, aside from an LG that looked better but not $80 better. Having desk space is also enjoyable, because I have a place for my snacks and/or the ability to paint Warhammer 40k guys while downloading high definition pornography.

Every game I have did some kind of check on startup and was like, "Hey buddy, seems you have a fucking awesome monitor now, let's change the resolution automatically for you." A lot of my games seem to perform better now, too, which is shocking.

What was not shocking was the only game I have that did not automatically switch resolutions was Fallout 3. So I closed it, as there is no ingame option to change resolution, then changed it to a friendlier resolution in the launcher. Now when I lplay Fallout 3, my wireless internet connection constantly disconnects and reconnects to the router.

This post isn't OMGhalp i cant play fallout3 lolz, as with the last DLC my tour of this concentration camp of the mind is complete, but I'm just wondering how in the hell a resolution change in a videogame can cause the internet connection to become loopy.
View user's profileSend private message
VasikkA
No more Tuna
No more Tuna


Joined: 15 Jun 2002
Posts: 8711

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I think you're secretly in love with Fallout 3. icon_chick
View user's profileSend private message
SenisterDenister
250 Posts til Somewhere
250 Posts til Somewhere


Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 2974
Location: Cackalackyland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:30 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Just quit playing it, I mean, you don't like it and its clearly pissing you off because it isn't working. Why play it?
View user's profileSend private message
Retlaw83
Goatse Messiah
Goatse Messiah


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 5328

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 5:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

senisterdenister wrote:
Just quit playing it, I mean, you don't like it and its clearly pissing you off because it isn't working. Why play it?


Retlaw83 wrote:
I'm just wondering how in the hell a resolution change in a videogame can cause the internet connection to become loopy.
View user's profileSend private message
Manoil
Wastelander's Nightmare
Wastelander's Nightmare


Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 3720
Location: Drifting Onward

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:06 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Doesn't this thread stand to say the internet is loopy without need of Fallout 3?
View user's profileSend private message
Retlaw83
Goatse Messiah
Goatse Messiah


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 5328

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:28 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Manoil wrote:
Doesn't this thread stand to say the internet is loopy without need of Fallout 3?


Aside from shenanigans on Comcast's end occasionally, my internet is perfectly fine while running any program but Fallout 3. I'm just wondering what kind of idiot fuck can program a 16:9 aspect ratio resolution change that messes with internet connections.
View user's profileSend private message
King of Creation
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 5103

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 6:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

The reason Fallout 3 is so buggy is because it's not actually a game, but a government spy program. The internet connectivity issues are a result of the CIA infiltrating your computer.
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
SenisterDenister
250 Posts til Somewhere
250 Posts til Somewhere


Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 2974
Location: Cackalackyland

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:17 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

That said it might be a Securom problem or something.
View user's profileSend private message
Manoil
Wastelander's Nightmare
Wastelander's Nightmare


Joined: 22 Feb 2006
Posts: 3720
Location: Drifting Onward

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Retlaw83 wrote:
Manoil wrote:
Doesn't this thread stand to say the internet is loopy without need of Fallout 3?


Aside from shenanigans on Comcast's end occasionally, my internet is perfectly fine while running any program but Fallout 3. I'm just wondering what kind of idiot fuck can program a 16:9 aspect ratio resolution change that messes with internet connections.
A Beth-kind of idiot, of course.
View user's profileSend private message
King of Creation
Righteous Subjugator
Righteous Subjugator


Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 5103

PostPosted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 8:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

senisterdenister wrote:
That said it might be a Securom problem or something.


If so, the patches should fix the problems. Securom even released a fixed .exe - basically they took a crack from one of the torrents and said "here, use this"
View user's profileSend private messageVisit poster's website
MR Snake
Chinderella
Chinderella


Joined: 02 Aug 2003
Posts: 2232
Location: Fapping in my mothers basement

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Retlaw83 wrote:
Manoil wrote:
Doesn't this thread stand to say the internet is loopy without need of Fallout 3?


Aside from shenanigans on Comcast's end occasionally, my internet is perfectly fine while running any program but Fallout 3. I'm just wondering what kind of idiot fuck can program a 16:9 aspect ratio resolution change that messes with internet connections.


Maybe its WINDOWS LIVE playing tricks on your mind.
View user's profileSend private message
Retlaw83
Goatse Messiah
Goatse Messiah


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 5328

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:49 am Reply with quoteBack to top

MR Snake wrote:
Maybe its WINDOWS LIVE playing tricks on your mind.


I disabled Windows Live from running with Fallout, though it may be some bullshit with that.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topicReply to topic


Jump to:  



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group