MOD EMERGENCY! SCRIPTER BADLY NEEDED!

Discuss the creation and scripting of new fan-made games and mods for the Fallout series of games.
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

dude_obj wrote:When people say ... make me what I need because I don't have time .... I don't think so. So your time is more valuable that mine?
You can sit on the comp allday if you whant I can´t I can sit at the comp 1
hour a day top...

And I am an Los idioto stupido so sue me if I don´t get what your talking
about...
And I allready have hard time trying to figure out what your talking about and then trying to figgure how to do sow...
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

Okay I´ll give it one more go, but please go slow
and go throug it step by step from dir creating,
movment of dir´s and so on causs I´ll gett lost
otherwise...
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
User avatar
dude_obj
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Canada (please don't annex me!)
Contact:

Post by dude_obj »

The easiest way to compile scripts now is using Jargo's FSE (Fallout Script Editor), because in the latest version it includes everything (precompiler, compiler, and the editor itself). It doesn't get much easier than this other than writing the script source.

http://bug.ii.uj.edu.pl/fallout/tools/F ... 0Setup.exe

The only thing to be careful of with this is making sure FSE points to the right places to find the games files. I suggest compiling an existing original script like artemple.map to test and make sure FSE is working. Open the script source and click on the compile icon in FSE. Check the date/time stamp on the artemple.int that is written. If that works then you're ready to compile some custom scripts.

Definitely no need to worry about watcom this way. FSE includes it and simply uses it as needed.
<a href="http://modguide.nma-fallout.com/">Fallout Modification FAQ</a>
Bugs? Dammit Gus, I'm a dessert chef not a programmer! (Found in Fallout2.exe)
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

Sorry for the late reply but thanks I´ll try it out to morrow, but were do I put my finiched scripts?
And how exatly am I suposed to do with this to make things work?


/*
Copyright 1998-2003 Interplay Entertainment Corp. All rights reserved.
*/

/*
Name:
Location: Den
Description:

Log:

Created: August 22, 1998

Updated:
*/

/* Include Files */
#include "..\headers\define.h"
#define NAME SCRIPT_DCADDICT
#define TOWN_REPUTATION GVAR_TOWN_REP_THE_DEN
#include "..\headers\command.h"
#include "..\headers\ModReact.h"
#include "..\headers\Den.h"

/* Standard Script Procedures */
procedure start;
//procedure critter_p_proc;
procedure pickup_p_proc;
procedure talk_p_proc;
procedure destroy_p_proc;
procedure look_at_p_proc;
procedure description_p_proc;
procedure use_skill_on_p_proc;
procedure damage_p_proc;
//procedure map_enter_p_proc;
//procedure map_exit_p_proc;
//procedure timed_event_p_proc;
procedure push_p_proc;

procedure Node998; // This Node is Always Combat


#define LVAR_Flags (4)


procedure start begin
end

procedure push_p_proc begin
end



procedure damage_p_proc begin
set_personal_enemy;
end

procedure pickup_p_proc begin
if (source_obj == dude_obj) then begin
call Node998;
end
end

procedure destroy_p_proc begin
inc_neutral_critter
end

procedure look_at_p_proc begin
script_overrides;
display_mstr(118);
end

procedure description_p_proc begin
script_overrides;
display_mstr(119);
end

procedure use_skill_on_p_proc begin
end

procedure Node998 begin
set_hostile;
end

procedure talk_p_proc begin
floater_rand (120,125);
end
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
User avatar
DarkUnderlord
Paragon
Paragon
Posts: 2372
Joined: Wed May 01, 2002 7:21 pm
Location: I've got a problem with my Goggomobil. Goggo-mobil. G-O-G-G-O. Yeah, 1954. Yeah, no not the Dart.
Contact:

Post by DarkUnderlord »

I'm sure you'll figure something out in the 1 hour you have to spare tomorrow.
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
Nicolai
ASSHAT
ASSHAT
Posts: 3735
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 4:38 pm
Location: Wheelchair Warez HQ

Post by Nicolai »

replace all the stars with brackets.
User avatar
dude_obj
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 4:45 pm
Location: Canada (please don't annex me!)
Contact:

Post by dude_obj »

The_Pastmaster wrote:were do I put my finiched scripts? And how exatly am I suposed to do with this to make things work?
When you configure FSE you point to your Fallout2.cfg file like this:

<img src="http://home.cogeco.ca/~desolation/FSEconfig.gif">

In the Fallout2.cfg is the patches settings:

critter_patches=F:\Fallout2\Data
master_patches=F:\Fallout2\Data

FSE will put the compiled script in the \scripts directory of whatever you have set for master_patches (in this exaple \Fallout2\Data\scripts).

How to make things work ... file -> open a script source file, click on the compile icon (or select compile from the menu), and you have a newly compiled script.
<a href="http://modguide.nma-fallout.com/">Fallout Modification FAQ</a>
Bugs? Dammit Gus, I'm a dessert chef not a programmer! (Found in Fallout2.exe)
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

Okay, thanks... *Thumbs up*
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

Okay I tryed to compile the ho script and it
worked, but when I changed some of the values in
the floater procces and tryed to compile it I got
this...

Compiling file: "tosmas.ssl"
Starting preprocessor
Preprocessor encountered following errors:
------------------------------------------------

c:\program files\blackisle\fse\binary\tosmas.ssl(9): Error! E1055: Unable to open '..\headers\define.h'
FSE info --> This error is caused by compiler being unable to find included file. Please check your path and filename in #include statements.
c:\program files\blackisle\fse\binary\tosmas.ssl(13): Error! E1055: Unable to open '..\headers\command.h'
FSE info --> This error is caused by compiler being unable to find included file. Please check your path and filename in #include statements.

------------------------------------------------
Compilation cannot complete due to critical error

WTF dose it mean???
I used the new FSE BTW...
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
Jargo
Respected
Respected
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 6:17 pm
Location: FMC (Poland)
Contact:

Post by Jargo »

This error is caused by compiler being unable to find included file. Please check your path and filename in #include statements.
Well it is an error from precompiler(watcom) it say that he can't find ..\headers\define.h and ..\headers\command.h files.

Probably you moved your script to new location.
You can replace dir by hand
from

#include "..\headers\define.h"

to something like this

#include "C:\Program files\BlackIsle\Scripts\headers\define.h"

Or select update #include on script load in FSE options menu.
Then FSE will update #include dirs if it's neded when you open script(will display a info box).
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

Okay I´ll try that
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

BTW how do I add a .msg to a script?
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
Jargo
Respected
Respected
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 6:17 pm
Location: FMC (Poland)
Contact:

Post by Jargo »

If you have script opened then press F8 or click on msg editor icon.
In msg editor cick on new file button and.....
Start writing

BTW use Add entry button to fast add new lines.
The_Pastmaster
SDF!
SDF!
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: Sweden, Skåne

Post by The_Pastmaster »

And the .Msg will be added auto?
There was once a man why asked a stupid
question, he died...

The sence moral is: The last Los stupido idioto
is not borne yet...
Our Host!
Post Reply